Know About IELTS

ILTES (International English Language Testing System)

IELTS is the international English Language System which assesses candidates’ proficiency in English language across the world. IELTS tests the ability of candidates to listen, read, write and speak English Language.

Who owns IELTS and who write the test?

IELTS is owned and managed jointly by University of Cambridge ESOL examinations, British Council and IDP: ISLETS Australia.
Candidates seeking international education, professional training or work in English speaking environment writes IELTS Test.

Test format

IELTS test have following four modules

1.Listening (4 sections, 30 minutes)
2.Reading  (3 sections, 60 minutes)
3.Writing   (2 tasks, 60 minutes)
4.Speaking (3 parts, 11-14 minutes)

The total duration for test is 2 hours and 45 minutes. The Listening, Reading, and Writing tests are taken in one sitting. The Speaking test may be on the same day or up to seven days before or after the test.

There are two types of IELTS suitable for study

1.Academic Test 
2.General Training Test 

Academic Test is taken by those candidates who want to take admission in a university or institution of higher education abroad (in English speaking countries).

General Training Test is taken by candidates seeking professional training, experience or work abroad (in English speaking countries).

You should take advice from local IELTS office or student advisor if you have any doubt about whether to sit for Academic test or General Training test, because both the tests are different in weight and are not interchangeable. Both the versions of IELTS test have four parts i.e. Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking.


Disclaimer: is just an informative website, before making any decision visitors are suggested to confirm the details published here with official websites on concerned government department/University/Institutes. Website owner/staff/technical team will not be responsible for decision based on the published informative.

Best Wishes